The State in India

Organizer: Uday Chandra

Thursday, October 22, 2015
Assembly Room

Schedule:

9:00 – 10:15 AM: Discussion of Kanchan Chandra’s Democracy and Dysfunction (manuscript)

10:15 – 10:30 AM: Tea/Coffee

10:30 – 12:30 PM: Democracy and the State in Contemporary India


1)     
Anastasia Piliavsky (apiliavsky@gmail.com)

2)      Aradhana Sharma (asharma@wesleyan.edu)
3)      Lisa Bjorkman (lbjorkman6@gmail.com)
4)      Anand Vaidya  (anand.p.vaidya@gmail.com)
5)      Lucia Michelutti (l.michelutti@ucl.ac.uk)
6)      Jeffrey Witsoe (witsoej@union.edu)

12:30 – 1:30 PM: Lunch

1:30 – 3:30 PM: Development, Economic Liberalization, and the Postcolonial State in India


1)     
Indrajit Roy (indrajit.roy@qeh.ox.ac.uk)
2)     
Lipika Kamra (lipika.kamra@qeh.ox.ac.uk)
3)     
Prakash Kashwan (kashwan@gmail.com)
4)     
Ronald Herring (ronherring@cornell.edu)
5)     
Akshay Mangla (amangla@hbs.edu)
6)     
Subir Sinha  (ss61@soas.ac.uk)

3:30 – 3:45 PM: Tea/Coffee

      3:45 – 5:30 PM: Thinking Through the Modern State in India across Time and Space


1)     
Kanchan Chandra (kanchan.chandra@gmail.com)

2)      John Harriss  (jharriss@sfu.ca
3)      Malini Sur (maliniaissr@gmail.com)
4)      Saurabh Dube (sdube@colmex.mx)
5)      Uday Chandra (uday.chandra@georgetown.edu)

5:30 – 6:30 PM: Reception

7:00 PM: Dinner